Skip to main content


HKBU Foundation announces new term of Board of Governors and establishment of Young Entrepreneur Committee

26 Jan 2018

The HKBU Foundation holds its Election Meeting cum First Meeting of the Board of Governors 2018-20
The HKBU Foundation holds its Election Meeting cum First Meeting of the Board of Governors 2018-20

The Hong Kong Baptist University Foundation (The Foundation) announced today (26 January 2018) the newly elected members to its Board of Governors. The new Chairman is Dr Kennedy Wong Ying-ho, and the Vice-Chairmen are Dr Justin Chiu Kwok-hung, Dr Ronald Lu Yuen-cheung and Ir Professor Peter Wong Kwok-keung. Treasurer of the Council and the Court of HKBU Ms Rosanna Choi Yi-tak takes on the role of Treasurer of the Foundation and Dr Wilfred Wong Ying-wai serves as Chairman Emeritus. Furthermore, 18 members and ex-officio members of the previous term remain in office, with Ms Connie Wong Wai-ching and Mr Sunny Wong Hak-kun as new members. 

Dr Simon Suen Siu-man and Ir Professor Peter Wong Kwok-keung have been reappointed Co-Chairmen of the Entrepreneur Committee under the Board of the Governors of the Foundation. Mr Sunny Wong has been elected Chairman of the Alumni Committee. A number of distinguished entrepreneurs and alumni have also been invited to join the two committees. 

The Board also announced that a new committee, the Young Entrepreneur Committee, has been established with the aim of offering advice to the University on ways to enrich students’ learning experience and their global perspectives and to cultivate their entrepreneurial spirit. The Co-Chairmen of this Committee are Ms Chloe Suen Yin-wah and Mr Ivan Wong Siu-kei. All the appointments take effect from 1 January 2018 for a term of three years.

Dr Kennedy Wong said he is honoured to take up the post of Chairman, “All the Board Members look forward to collaborating closely with the Council to raise sufficient funds for the University. It is the Foundation’s mission to support the University’s 10-year Strategic Plan and help HKBU realise its aspiration of becoming a leading, research-led liberal arts University in Asia for the world.”

On behalf of the University, Mr Cheng Yan-kee, ex-officio member of the Foundation and Chairman of the University Council and the Court, expressed his deepest appreciation to Dr Wilfred Wong in leading the Foundation for the past nine years. Mr Cheng also sent his heartiest regards to the former office-bearers and members of the Foundation for their dedicated service and tremendous contributions over the years. They included Dr Joseph Lee Chung-tak, former Vice-Chairman of the Board; Mrs Doreen Chan, former Treasurer; Dr William Leung, former Chairman of the Alumni Committee; President Emeritus Professor Albert Chan Sun-chi; Professor Alice Chiu Tsang Hok-wan; Mr William Hui Chun-lim; and Dr Philip Wu Po-him.

Established in 2009, the Foundation aims at consolidating support from all sectors of society and raising funds to sustain HKBU’s endeavours and extending its support base. As of December 2017, the Foundation raised more than HK$1.3 billion since its inception, providing a solid financial bedrock for the University’s advancement. 

For the list of Board and Committee Members, please visit: